3 comes out as number one... for customer complaints

3 comes out as number one... for customer complaintsWe all enjoy a good rant every now and again, but when it comes to mobile networks it seems 3 Mobile customers are more outspoken than most.

For while may be getting all-you-can-eat data on your 3 contract, you can also look forward to more than your fair share of problems too, according to the latest figures from industry regulator Ofcom.

For the first time, Ofcom has made its data public and revealed the broadband, landline and mobile providers that customers complain about the most.

It revealed that over the period from October 2010 to February 2011 it received on average 450 complaints per day relating to telecoms providers, covering everything from billing errors to lack of service.

The majority of complaints were aimed at broadband and landline providers, with TalkTalk a clear winner overall, it's 3 that claims the dubious honour of being the most complained-about mobile network.

That despite the best efforts of T-Mobile, which saw a huge swell of unrest in January when it introduced sweeping changes to its fair use policy, changes it eventually had to scale back due to the outcry from subscribers.

Via Wired

Read more about: 3 MobileT-mobile

Add a comment

JanSt / MOD  Apr. 23, 2011 at 11:31

Not surprised. Here in Ireland they only survive because not a single competitor has a decent data add-on. So heavy surfers have no alternative to 3. THEIR CS is outrageous, their instore staff makes other network store staff look like Mensa hotshots. Hell, there are 3 stores here that don't even sell top-up lol #nuffsaid :p

mitchwales  Apr. 23, 2011 at 12:33

Not suprised... bloody awful!!

3Mobilercrap  Apr. 23, 2011 at 13:29

3 Mobile are without doubt the absolute worst company. PERIOD. I am amazed that they're still in business. You can't get a mobile signal even when standing next to the bloody 3 mobile mast. You may as well then explain your problems to farm animals as you'll get more sense from them. There customer service doesn't exist. A joke of a company!

lumoruk  Apr. 24, 2011 at 12:17

Hope you lot are talking from current experience, they've really improved this past year with signal. Customer service is just as bad, but saying that they unlocked my wife's phone for free after the 18 month contract was up. I'm staying with them.

DJLIAM  Apr. 24, 2011 at 17:54

I've used 3 fir mobile data for 2 years and have had good experiences, only in out of the way areas I've struggled, but then couldn't get any other provider to work either. Took my ipad2 with them and ave no issues so far and have my lovely 15gb data compared to everyone else's 1 and 2 gb.

Stelph  Apr. 26, 2011 at 11:00

3 always get a lot of stick but I was a customer for about 3-4 years and never really had any issues with them myself, the signal was good for me and they offered a fair price with the most mature postion on data of any of the networks (i.e. they truely support the idea of mobile data and how it can replace standard texts and voice mins)

Whenever I see reports of complaints ect like this I always want to see breakdowns of what the actual complaints are since most of the time when I read forums about peoples complaints with 3 it sounds like things that are more geographical and affects other networks as well (i.e dodgy signal, just because thats the case where you are doesnt mean its the same elsewhere) or complaints about the customer service which a lot of the time borders on racism. Fair enough, its slightly more difficult to understand someone from India speaking English but in muy experience they are always trying to help you and so just speak clearly and ask them to do the same if you dont understand them initially, shouting or getting worked up and ranting doesnt help anyone

tucka20  May. 8, 2011 at 11:57

I have been a 3 customer for over two years now, and the other half has been there for 4 years. Not a single complaint and the best prices in the country in our opinion. £25 for a free Iphone 4 last November (not long after release) with 1gb data, 500 mins, 5000 3-to-3 and 5000 texts.

johnmorrison  May. 24, 2011 at 00:20

Started 3 mobile broadband nearly a year ago. Got laptop with that. If didnt would have left them. Patchy service for first months then improved for a bit. Over Easter the service dropped considerably and now almost unusable. Beware of trying to complain. Had now around 10 conversations with their staff. You will be asked to provide details of the signal you have at home and away. They ignore the detail you write to them and insist you are at home to run through same diagnostics several times. Two saturday afternoons destroyed waiting for them yielded no change. When complain again the 3 staff start from the same list of items and never seem to be able to have crosstalk or any handle on anything other than a checklist. On My M20 postcode apparently there will be an upgrade by the end of this month. However the first of their staff I talked to said that there was no possiblity of bandwidth compromising service so I will report with happy surprise if there is any improvement soon. On all occasions when 3 staff respond to email you are asked the same questions and told the service is excellent in your area despite reporting opposite and having good service on same kit elsewhere. Last one was fun. Was asked to take laptop outside. It tends to rain a lot in Manchester. Dont touch em.

JanSt / MOD  May. 24, 2011 at 13:26

yes, I'm speaking from recent experience. However, as I said, I'm in Ireland, not in the UK - and ironically I have no probs with the cs in India. When I spoke of poor cs, I meant the Irish side of it, instore and by phone. It is so pathetic. They know nothing, and their ignorance borders frequently on intentional trained lying. Not claiming the Irish competition is great, but 3 truly stand out.


You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.