Apple adds Samsung Galaxy S III and Galaxy Note to complaint (sigh)

Apple adds Samsung Galaxy S III and Galaxy Note to complaint (sigh)California’s Apple was recently awarded $1 billion after what seemed like a never-ending courtroom bickering session with South Korea’s Samsung. But that’s the end of it, right? Nah, far from it.

Apple, not content with that cheque for $1 billion, has now added the Samsung Galaxy S III and Galaxy Note to an existing complaint.

That’s the word according to Apple Insider. Remember the Samsung Galaxy Nexus fiasco? Yeah, it’s that complaint we’re dealing with here.

As a result of the complaint, the Samsung Galaxy Nexus was banned, then it wasn’t, then it was, then it wasn’t, then everyone pretty much stopped caring. Ultimately, Sammo was granted a stay pending appeal.

The complaint mentions eight patents, including slide-to-unlock, word completion, and universal search. Samsung could potentially address at least some of the eight with software updates.

With two versions of the Samsung Galaxy S III and Galaxy Note added, that brings the total number of devices listed in the complaint to 21.

An excerpt reads: “Samsung has continued to flood the market with copycat products, including at least 17 new infringing products released prior to filing the original complaint in the instant action. Since then, Samsung has continued to release new infringing products, including its current flagship device, the Galaxy S III.”

Yeah, it’s pretty easy to confuse the 4.8in Samsung Galaxy S III and the 5.3in Samsung Galaxy Note with the 3.5in iPhone. Poor Apple. It doesn’t stand a chance out there.

Read more about: Samsung Galaxy NoteSamsung Galaxy S3Android

Add a comment
21 comments

matt101101 / MOD  Sep. 3, 2012 at 12:27

Poor Apple. It doesn’t stand a chance out there.
Don't worry, the US legal system will protect poor, vulnerable, abused Apple.

aspen1294  Sep. 3, 2012 at 13:10

It sucks!! Apple should take its patents to another planet!!

barrybarryk  Sep. 3, 2012 at 13:16

The complaint mentions eight patents, including slide-to-unlock, word completion, and universal search.How Apple were able to even patent these things given they've been around for years baffles me. A judge is going to have to rule that software functionality can't be patented and make all these ridiculous suits go away. They should have done it years ago when people started trying to patent software.

socialjeebus  Sep. 3, 2012 at 13:48

It's mighty telling that (except the bizarre ruling in Germany - or was it Netherlands that was ultimately quashed/overturned) every decision outside the US has gone against Apple (bizarrely Korea aside - that decision was basically a draw and the court telling them both to **** off).

Dougal1709  Sep. 3, 2012 at 13:51

Surely slide to unlock, word completion and universal search are common to all android products rather than just Samsung ones. There's something not quite right about Google standing about watching while Apple go after Samsung for alleged patent violations that are Android features rather than Samsung ones. Surely Google should be supporting their partners.

matt101101 / MOD  Sep. 3, 2012 at 14:01

Surely slide to unlock, word completion and universal search are common to all android products rather than just Samsung ones. There's something not quite right about Google standing about watching while Apple go after Samsung for alleged patent violations that are Android features rather than Samsung ones. Surely Google should be supporting their partners.
They tried to support HTC, the court told HTC that the patents they'd borrowed from El Goog were inadmissible. What else do you expect Google to do, burn down Apple's HQ?

Pondlife  Sep. 3, 2012 at 14:06

Just be glad they didn't patent the touchscreen keyboard..

matt101101 / MOD  Sep. 3, 2012 at 14:06

It's mighty telling that (except the bizarre ruling in Germany - or was it Netherlands that was ultimately quashed/overturned) every decision outside the US has gone against Apple (bizarrely Korea aside - that decision was basically a draw and the court telling them both to **** off).
I'd noticed that, too. Funny (ironic, not "haha"), isn't it?

matt101101 / MOD  Sep. 3, 2012 at 14:10

Just be glad they didn't patent the touchscreen keyboard..
I'm surprised they didn't, tbh. I wonder if Apple'll sue Samsung over the Galaxy Camera (which I'm considering buying as my ancient 7mp 3x zoom digital camera is on its last legs).

universe1992  Sep. 3, 2012 at 14:19

Apple need to get a grip its gettin silly now all this they seem to want everything and have no competition at all just apple and no one else?

Pondlife  Sep. 3, 2012 at 14:39

Apple need to get a grip its gettin silly now all this they seem to want everything and have no competition at all just apple and no one else?

I think most companies would be glad to work in a market like that. Of course America should realise that it's rather like the communist one they don't like and they might end up with phone equivalents of the Trabby and Lada.

Just be glad they didn't patent the touchscreen keyboard..
I'm surprised they didn't, tbh. I wonder if Apple'll sue Samsung over the Galaxy Camera (which I'm considering buying as my ancient 7mp 3x zoom digital camera is on its last legs).


Probably, mind you from the prices I've heard suggested I'd skip it.

matt101101 / MOD  Sep. 3, 2012 at 15:07

Apple need to get a grip its gettin silly now all this they seem to want everything and have no competition at all just apple and no one else?

I think most companies would be glad to work in a market like that. Of course America should realise that it's rather like the communist one they don't like and they might end up with phone equivalents of the Trabby and Lada.

Just be glad they didn't patent the touchscreen keyboard..
I'm surprised they didn't, tbh. I wonder if Apple'll sue Samsung over the Galaxy Camera (which I'm considering buying as my ancient 7mp 3x zoom digital camera is on its last legs).


Probably, mind you from the prices I've heard suggested I'd skip it.

I haven't seen any prices mentioned, what have you seen?

Pondlife  Sep. 3, 2012 at 15:16

I saw £400 mentioned. oO

matt101101 / MOD  Sep. 3, 2012 at 15:28

I saw £400 mentioned. oO
That's not too bad, especially considering how much longer I keep my camera (hence owning a 7MP digital camera and it being the best camera I have) compared to how long I keep phone. I could probably get it VAT free, too, so it'd be £333.33.

Pondlife  Sep. 3, 2012 at 15:34

If I was spending that much on a camera it wouldn't be that one.

matt101101 / MOD  Sep. 3, 2012 at 15:51

If I was spending that much on a camera it wouldn't be that one.
I'm not interested in DSLRs, they're too impractical and you look like a tw*t (or a paedophile...or both) using them.

No-one's done a proper image quality or video quality test of the Galaxy Camera yet, so it's hard to tell whether it's worth just over £300 or not (also, that's hardly a confirmed price).

Pondlife  Sep. 3, 2012 at 15:57

*eye rolling smiley*

I know it's not confirmed, hence if spending that much...

Stelph  Sep. 3, 2012 at 16:20

Out of curiosity, has the number of patent lawsuits in the mobile industry increased exponentionally as the last year suggests, or have technology websites and the like just got better at reporting them?

I.e. is it that companies are getting worse at sueing each other (oh and samsung are just as bad, "announcing" they are going to sue Apple if it has 4G LTE in it, they dont even know yet and are planning to sue! Im going to sue if it calls it the Stelph phone) or is it that its being reported more

greedyapplemofos  Sep. 3, 2012 at 23:23

FFS! Apple give it a rest, get over yourselves, greedy bunch of B*****ds, Iphone sales not producing enough income?

that's cos you developed an overpriced piece of crap and only your fanboys buy into it, similar hardware and better software can be had for half the price of the Iphones from plenty of other phone developers.

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 4, 2012 at 11:22

FFS! Apple give it a rest, get over yourselves, greedy bunch of B*****ds, Iphone sales not producing enough income?

that's cos you developed an overpriced piece of crap and only your fanboys buy into it, similar hardware and better software can be had for half the price of the Iphones from plenty of other phone developers.


Okay, the first sentence I cannot argue with much.
The rest? I think you need to get over your anger, mate. It unballances you. The piece "of crap"
made Apple an awful lot of profit. Most of it from fairly 'ordinary' non-techie folks who wouldn't even know what a 'fanboy' is - hey, a lot of them are 'girls'/women....
But ironic that you bring up 'similar hardware'. Wink.
The 'overpriced' slur is getting very very boring. It may well apply to their Laptops ('Macbooks' to fanboys). But iPads are fairly competitively priced compared to the Android alternatives.
iPhones ARE indeed overpriced - WHEN bought sim-free. But most iPhones owned by non-fanboys are acquired on contract and not for more than an SGS3 would cost them.
FACT: most iPhone 'owners' have zero clue as to how much an iPhone costs.

Better software for half the price? That may partly be true - studies show Android owners rather get free/ad-supported apps. A lot of the top apps however cost the same cross-platform.
And: a lot of iOS apps are not available on Android. And vice versa.

There are plenty of very good reasons for attacking Apple over these lawsuits. There are plenty of good reasons to criticise the Apple 'business model' (ask Bruce Willis), unfortunately you rush in here spouting cliches. Was it worth it? Enjoy the rest of the day.

matt101101 / MOD  Sep. 4, 2012 at 12:22

FFS! Apple give it a rest, get over yourselves, greedy bunch of B*****ds, Iphone sales not producing enough income?

that's cos you developed an overpriced piece of crap and only your fanboys buy into it, similar hardware and better software can be had for half the price of the Iphones from plenty of other phone developers.


Okay, the first sentence I cannot argue with much.
The rest? I think you need to get over your anger, mate. It unballances you. The piece "of crap"
made Apple an awful lot of profit. Most of it from fairly 'ordinary' non-techie folks who wouldn't even know what a 'fanboy' is - hey, a lot of them are 'girls'/women....
But ironic that you bring up 'similar hardware'. Wink.
The 'overpriced' slur is getting very very boring. It may well apply to their Laptops ('Macbooks' to fanboys). But iPads are fairly competitively priced compared to the Android alternatives.
iPhones ARE indeed overpriced - WHEN bought sim-free. But most iPhones owned by non-fanboys are acquired on contract and not for more than an SGS3 would cost them.
FACT: most iPhone 'owners' have zero clue as to how much an iPhone costs.

Better software for half the price? That may partly be true - studies show Android owners rather get free/ad-supported apps. A lot of the top apps however cost the same cross-platform.
And: a lot of iOS apps are not available on Android. And vice versa.

There are plenty of very good reasons for attacking Apple over these lawsuits. There are plenty of good reasons to criticise the Apple 'business model' (ask Bruce Willis), unfortunately you rush in here spouting cliches. Was it worth it? Enjoy the rest of the day.

BOOM!

Jan 1 - 0 Stranger

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: