AhmadCentral

Chinese dual sim phones- review

http://www.gizchina.com/2012/11/03/exclusive-complete-comprensive-star-b92m-hdc-galaxy-s3-ex-review/

Edited with one link rather than the whole article because it was too much effort to scroll down.

Most Useful Answer AhmadCentral  Oct. 27, 2012 at 22:31

cheers.
http://www.merimobiles.com/product_images/uploaded_images/b92m-1.jpg
So i've been playing with it some more and i must say the battery life really is amazing, full day today and ended on 64% with a lot of usage for calls/texts. 30 min video and 30 mins web browsing whilst having both sims on with signal. Usually my phones would be around 40-60% by the end of the day so this is good. I hope the battery lasts.

So i've tested the GPS and it does work but it is very very very slow to get a fix. There is someone working on a fix as i speak though.

Downsides are that the screen gets fingerprints very easily. The camera sucks in low light and keeps fousing and taking blurry pictures sometimes. It's fine in normal conditions though. The graphics chip like i mentioned before is ok for video and stuff just about, sucks for graphics intensive games or small animations. really slows down the phone sometimes when scrolling through homescreens.

Also, phone is not 100% stable, had a few crashes again. But like i said there is a guy working on this.

Apart from that the phone is great, the dual sim feature is great and battery life is awesome. I was comparing the screen, and like i said before the colours aren't truly accurate but the viewing angles is actually quite good compared to One X etc...

Add a comment
50 comments

CTPAHHIK  Oct. 25, 2012 at 16:34

Wow, thank you

Pondlife  Oct. 25, 2012 at 16:48

I don't think you should be apologising for the long post, rather interesting.

AhmadCentral  Oct. 27, 2012 at 22:31

cheers.
http://www.merimobiles.com/product_images/uploaded_images/b92m-1.jpg
So i've been playing with it some more and i must say the battery life really is amazing, full day today and ended on 64% with a lot of usage for calls/texts. 30 min video and 30 mins web browsing whilst having both sims on with signal. Usually my phones would be around 40-60% by the end of the day so this is good. I hope the battery lasts.

So i've tested the GPS and it does work but it is very very very slow to get a fix. There is someone working on a fix as i speak though.

Downsides are that the screen gets fingerprints very easily. The camera sucks in low light and keeps fousing and taking blurry pictures sometimes. It's fine in normal conditions though. The graphics chip like i mentioned before is ok for video and stuff just about, sucks for graphics intensive games or small animations. really slows down the phone sometimes when scrolling through homescreens.

Also, phone is not 100% stable, had a few crashes again. But like i said there is a guy working on this.

Apart from that the phone is great, the dual sim feature is great and battery life is awesome. I was comparing the screen, and like i said before the colours aren't truly accurate but the viewing angles is actually quite good compared to One X etc...

AhmadCentral  Nov. 4, 2012 at 11:13

JanSt / MOD  Nov. 4, 2012 at 12:12

Thanks, Ahmad...
Have you tried the Acer Galant Duo, also?

AhmadCentral  Nov. 4, 2012 at 13:44

I haven't used it myself unfortunately, but from what i've heard, it's a good phone. The only thing i would say though, that for £160 it's a bit overpriced for a dual sim phone. It only has a single core processor and 5mp camera. The phone i have is a dual core processor with an upgraded graphics chipset, and a better camera, i only paid £135 including shipping for it.

I suggest if you want a UK seller go to amazon and search for "dracotek", they sell chinese dual sim phones in the UK and have a lot of good reviews for them and the phones, you can get slightly better spec phones (less known brands, like Hero) for less than the Acer.

But The acer is a good phone from what i've heard, not a bad phone at all. I'm just saying that you can get better spec phones for the same price. downside is either importing or having an unknown brand.

AhmadCentral  Nov. 4, 2012 at 13:58

Here is a link to some dual core phones that Dracotek sell on amazon, http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=DracoTek+MTK6577+&rh=n%3A560798%2Ck%3ADracoTek+MTK6577+

If you read the reviews you'll see that they are comparing these chinese dual sim phones to the S3 etc... and saying they're just as fast for under £150

Pondlife  Nov. 4, 2012 at 13:58

Like the name of it as seen in the review. HDC Galaxy S3 :)

Any luck with gps fix yet?

smelly2shoes  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:01

so where did you buy it from...got a link?

AhmadCentral  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:08

Yeh aha, the actual Manufacturer is Star. but HDC rebrand the phone and sell it as well so it has 2 names. I bought the unbranded Star version.

GPS fix is good now thanks to XDA, the phone has root, CWM, GPS fix, and bigger data partition from 2GB to 2.5GB total user space. Custom rom is in the works.

Tbh this phone is a daily driver now. I use it with no problems at all. Plus i found a nifty trick. This phone like many others is dual standby, so if i have a call on one sim i can't use the other sim to make/recieve calls. So now all i do is set up call forwarding so that if i am using the phone on one sim in a call, the other sim forwards the call straight to the active sim and becomes a waiting call on the main sim.

Great!... though i don't really get many calls so it's proved a useless trick so far haha.

AhmadCentral  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:13

I go it from this seller-

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Star-B92M-Android-Phone-MTK6577-Dual-core-1GB-RAM-4GB-Nand-4-7-Inch-720P-HD/566077614.html

But now the phone comes with 512mb ram not 1GB. It's still fast.
I contacted manufactuer and they said that a 1GB version will be made again. But no offiical date

Pondlife  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:19

Still crashing occasionally though?

AhmadCentral  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:27

Not really, i think in the week and a half i had it it's only crashed 5 times in 14 days. and the first 2 were when i had it for 2 days. It only seems to crash randomly when you press on an app or something.

I haven't had a crash for the past three days now (probably jinxed it)
Plus i'm going to wait till the guy working on the custom rom releases it and see if that makes it any better.

The phone isn't a complete powerhouse like the S3. But it's not exactly far off either.

matt101101 / MOD  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:38

I see the attraction of these "no name" Chinese devices, (certainly over a £400 S3), but over a £280 Nexus 4...not so much, IMO.

jaybear88  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:42

Cheers for the review Ahmad!

AhmadCentral  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:48

I see the attraction of these "no name" Chinese devices, (certainly over a £400 S3), but over a £280 Nexus 4...not so much, IMO.

I'd probably agree with you now. I did buy this before the nexus 4 was even announced though, but to be honest the main attraction of these chinese devices is that they are dual sim. Something that is not very popular here in the UK. Even if the Nexus 4 was out at the time i bought this phone i probably tstill would have bought this just for the dual sim capabilities.

But i do see where you're coming from. The good news though, is that MediaTek are working on a Quad core processor that supports DC-HSPA+, 720p res screens and up to 13mp camera. (Google MT6588). There is also a similar chip with LTE capabilities. MT6589.

Now if the companies that use these chips in dual sim phones can roll out good spec phones like this one with the Quad core chip for roughly the same price £150-£200. Then it'll be a harder decision between branded and non branded phones.

Only downside is that the quad core processors are not due to be released until January 2013. Probably won't see them in phones till February/March

Pondlife  Nov. 4, 2012 at 14:50

I see the attraction of these "no name" Chinese devices, (certainly over a £400 S3), but over a £280 Nexus 4...not so much, IMO.

Depends on needs I guess, but is still half the price. Dual sim is a factor on this one too for some

AhmadCentral  Nov. 4, 2012 at 15:59

Plus one thing I will say is that I hate phones with no as card slot and no removable battery. So even at £280, that puts me off a bit. Also that's why I was actually quite glad when my one x screen cracked.
Not to say the nexus is a bad phone, its the best out there IMO. Just the sd card and battery issue put me off straight away. My 32gb memory card is al4ady 3/4 full with essential files.

Stelph  Nov. 5, 2012 at 10:43

I see the attraction of these "no name" Chinese devices, (certainly over a £400 S3), but over a £280 Nexus 4...not so much, IMO.

I'd probably agree with you now. I did buy this before the nexus 4 was even announced though, but to be honest the main attraction of these chinese devices is that they are dual sim. Something that is not very popular here in the UK. Even if the Nexus 4 was out at the time i bought this phone i probably tstill would have bought this just for the dual sim capabilities.

But i do see where you're coming from. The good news though, is that MediaTek are working on a Quad core processor that supports DC-HSPA+, 720p res screens and up to 13mp camera. (Google MT6588). There is also a similar chip with LTE capabilities. MT6589.

Now if the companies that use these chips in dual sim phones can roll out good spec phones like this one with the Quad core chip for roughly the same price £150-£200. Then it'll be a harder decision between branded and non branded phones.

Only downside is that the quad core processors are not due to be released until January 2013. Probably won't see them in phones till February/March


It is odd that dual sim phones arent that popular in the UK, possibly because business people have who have have just got used to having two phones

Now that Android are starting to get the idea of more than one "account" on Android in Jellybean 2.0 I wonder if we are going to see this side of the technology ivestigated a little more, it would be great if you were able to switch between your private and work accounts quickly and easily so the two didnt mix (but you could see if the other account had messages that were outstanding). I quite like how BBM's next phones have this (although they dont do dual sim! Idiots)

Pondlife  Nov. 5, 2012 at 11:19

I think battery life on Smartphones will remain reason for many having two phones

AhmadCentral  Nov. 5, 2012 at 18:00

Agreed.

Although I must say I've found the battery really impressive. Sure its not as good as the old nokias or some of the phones on the market today. But I am getting a constant 4 hour on screen time with each charge. Lasts my full work day without needing a recharge.

Good thing is that you get 2 batteries in the box which is something you don't see a lot of

AhmadCentral  Nov. 19, 2012 at 13:30

Here's another article from myself just showing how easy it is to manage a dual sim phone-
http://www.gizchina.com/2012/11/09/how-to-manage-your-dual-sim-android-phone/

AhmadCentral  Dec. 14, 2012 at 13:21

Mediatek have now announced the MT6589, which is a quad-core Cortex A7 1.2GHz CPU, also features a PowerVR Series5XT GPU.It supports up to 13MP camera on the rear as well as a 3D camera image processing, 1080p/30 video processing/playback. It can support full HD screens (like HTC Butterfly), and has a built in 42Mbps DC-HSPA+ / TD-SCDMA-capable dual-SIM dual-active radio

The MTK6589 also supports Miracast technology for multi-screen content sharing and pre-integrates MediaTek's leading 4-in-1 connectivity combo, which supports 802.11n Wi-Fi, BT4.0, GPS and FM. It is low power energy effecient and as mentioned it is a Dual Active phone which means that both sims will now work at the same time. (same as before but even when one sim is in a call the other can still accept calls, something old Mediatek processors could not do)

In benchmarks it is just under Nvidia Tegra 3 processor. We should see dual sim smartphones with this processor as early as Q1 2013.

The UMI X2 has already been announced to use this processor with the following spec-
1920x1080 FHD 5.0inch IPS display
1GB Ram (unknown rom)
Mediatek 1.2GHz quad processor
12mp camera
Android 4.1 + Dual sim

for £150. (Maybe £200 with import fees) which is very very cheap. (UMI X2 specs are not confirmed 100%)

Pondlife  Dec. 14, 2012 at 13:32

Wow. Seems a bargain, depending on how good the rom is. Thinking more about a dual sim phone atm and damn that is tempting despite the size.

matt101101 / MOD  Dec. 14, 2012 at 13:43

Wow. Seems a bargain, depending on how good the rom is. Thinking more about a dual sim phone atm and damn that is tempting despite the size.
Haven't you just bought an N4?

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: