JanSt

iOS Tip: Stop nosy people with Guided Access

You know the situation:
One photo on your iPhone or iPad that you want to share. Not online. No.
You want to hand your iPhone or iPad to somebody so s/he can look at it.
Obviously, there is a good chance that person will look at the pic for all of 0.2 seconds
before s/he starts swiping left or right to see your other dirty laundry.

http://www.live4.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/snooping.jpg

How can you easily prevent that from happening?
That is where a useful iOS feature comes into play.
It's so useful that Apple decided to hide it. In the Accessibility sub-menu.

It's called "Guided Access", and if you're anything like me, you had visions
of Labradors wearing neon and a complex leash the one time you noticed it in the Settings menu.

Anyhoo:

Steven Tweedie over on BusinessInsider
explains how to keep the photo-snoops from swiping through your photo album.

Once you 'get it', it's quite simple. And obviously, Guided Access has other useful applications - showing people one and only one email, e.g. by disabling touch on the screen.

Add a comment
2 comments

thecynicalsaint  Nov. 3, 2014 at 16:41

Just tried it. Only problems are (1) it greys out a big chunk of the screen which isn't good for viewing photos, (2) takes a few seconds to set up, not long but not great if you are showing someone a picture, and (3) it only blocks out in circles - you can just touch the edges outside the circle and bypass the whole thing.

JanSt / MOD  Nov. 3, 2014 at 17:08

Just tried it. Only problems are (1) it greys out a big chunk of the screen which isn't good for viewing photos, (2) takes a few seconds to set up, not long but not great if you are showing someone a picture, and (3) it only blocks out in circles - you can just touch the edges outside the circle and bypass the whole thing.
No, you're doing it wrong.
Same happened to me at first.
Don't follow the "circle the area..." cue!!!!
Triple press Homebutton, then: bottom left: OPTION. Hit it, and you get the option to disable Touch etc etc etc... Disable Touch without marking/circling screen area to affect.

But yes, it's not perfect: not only can people not swipe, they also can't zoom in or out.
But NO greyed out area ;)

And: you really get used to it quickly.

Same can be used to show people ONE and only one email or SMS.

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: