iPhone 5S launch preview: five things we think we know

iPhone 5S launch preview: five things we think we knowSamsung, Sony and the rest of the Android boys had their moment in the spotlight last week, with IFA 2013 going down a storm over in Berlin. Oh, and not forgetting the handful of Windows-flavoured tablet stuff, too.

Tomorrow night it’s Apple’s turn to take the stage over in California, as it finally unveils the much-discussed iPhone 5S. In the meantime, I present unto thee five things we know – or think we know – about the next iPhone.

Inevitably the iPhone 5S will have a faster processor and enhanced camera, and it’ll probably be thinner and lighter than its predecessor.

What we’re looking at here is five very specific thingies about the iPhone 5S, presented – as per tradition – in no particular order. Ready? Let’s do it.

iPhone 5S launch preview: five things we think we knowiPhone 5S colours

Colours are all the rage at the moment, with the Sony Xperia Z1 dropping last week in black, white and purple, and the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 arriving shortly thereafter in black, white and pink.

The iPhone has traditionally been available in black and white only, but rumour has it the iPhone 5S will arrive tomorrow in gold (or more accurately “champagne”) and possibly graphite.

iPhone 5S storage

Bit of a controversial one, since Apple refuses to include microSD in the iPhone, and since it charges £70 to go from 16GB (£529) to 32GB (£599) on the iPhone 5, and an extra £100 on top of that to go from 32GB to 64GB (£699).

We’re told that the iPhone 5S might mark the debut of a 128GB storage option, which would presumably mean a price tag of around £799. Hmm.

iPhone 5S launch preview: five things we think we knowiPhone 5S video trickery

The iPhone 5 has an exclusive Panorama mode for capturing those particularly scenic moments. Or hey, maybe you just like taking silly pictures with people appearing at several points (hours of fun).

The iPhone 5S is tipped to have its own exclusive camera feature, namely slow motion video recording at 120 frames per second. That’s a lot of frames per second.

Again, probably something that’s more so fun to mess around with than hugely practical, but Jan’s already salivating.

iPhone 5S security

If having a lengthy passcode or password on your iPhone isn’t enough to allay fears of intrusion, imagine a world where – in theory – no one but you can unlock your phone.

That’s the idea with the iPhone 5S fingerprint scanner (probably housed on the Home button), and while it’s not exactly a spanking new concept in the world of mobile, it’s expected to really take off this year, with the HTC One Max also tipped to embrace the technology.

Just don’t go messing up your fingers…

iPhone 5S launch preview: five things we think we knowiPhone 5S budget variant

Android might be kicking ass when it comes to smartphone market share, but a massive percentage of Android sales are comprised of mid- and low-level handsets.

The closest Apple has come to offering a budget iPhone to date is keeping the last three generations of its handset around at any one time, so the iPhone 5 is currently flanked by the iPhone 4S and iPhone 4.

However, at £319 with just 8GB storage, the iPhone 4 isn’t exactly cheap.

Enter: the budget iPhone, or iPhone 5C.

Story goes that the plastic-bodied iPhone 5C will help Apple mop up some of the low-end market, though considering those people aren’t going to be spending a huge amount on content, you have to wonder what the point is.

In any case, if you look at the September 10 launch invite (above), the notion of a budget iPhone is given credence by the tagline "This should brighten everyone's day", with the iPhone 5C tipped to come in several bright colours.

We’re still stubbornly refusing to believe that the iPhone 5C exists, but the evidence is certainly mounting, and it could become a reality in just over 24 hours. Stay tuned.

Read more about: Apple iPhone 4Apple iPhone 4SApple iPhone 5Apple iPhone 5s

Add a comment
8 comments

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 9, 2013 at 13:30

The deal with China Mobile is a big thing.
The 5C is probably primarily a concession to them.

120fps high speed video at a good resolution would be quite nice.

Fingerprint scanner? Oh my. But maybe the implementation is useful? Who can tell.

It is certainly high time they upped the storage option: many 1GB + games, 3GB+ iTunes movies, and if they do introduce high speed video, those will take up quite a bit of space, too - unless Apple reduce resolution to VGA .... which I doubt.

I'm looking forward to the launch. Mainly because all other companies think nobody wants a quality sub-4.7-inch screen device.
But I wouldn't buy one without jailbreak and before I can find out more about the alleged fingerprint thing.

kas786  Sep. 9, 2013 at 14:51

who in their right mind is going to buy the 5s when the 5c is a revamped version of the current 5 iteration?
from the rumour mill online most reports indicate the 5c is going to be a tad better than the current 5 version but with a plastic casing.
the 5s is supposed to retain the metal/glass body but have a slightly better camera, an A7 cpu rather than the A6 (approx 20% faster), a 128gb version, fingerprint scanner - well surely all of that is worth a few hundred quid more than the 5c???
if the 5c does materialise then it has to be similar to a 4s in terms of spec to give apple users the ability to see that there is a material difference between the 5s & 5c to warrant the huge extra money they will have to pay for it. if its like the reports online, then i think i'll be going with the 5c, its going to be in a case anyway but i'm not paying £300+ for a very very minor upgrade (from what current online reports say) to the 5s

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 9, 2013 at 15:48

kas,

sadly, the same goes for all 'upgrades' of the last 18 months or so.
Also, I maintain the 5C is purpose made for China. Partnering up with China Mobile is a big big deal. Of course, Apple wouldn't launch a China-exclusive model. So the 5C was born. It makes it possible to phase out the 3.5-in models (and the old adapters etc). It'll make app development and iOS updates easier.

IF (IF) the 5S gets a better camera, a faster processor and that fingerprint thing in addition to some other under the hood tweaks and more widely available 64GB/126GB versions it is not too shabby. Look at all the 64GB Android devices that are alluringly promised at launch events only to never actually materialise to a wider audience!

But in the end it is up to the individual. If Apple wanted to appeal to SGS4 fans they would churn out a larger device. I'm sure they will at some point.
But the reality is: 95% + of all Android devices in use are 4.3-in and smaller. Partly of course because of the price. But I'm certain there is a large number of people out there who do not want a huge device for on-the-go. I think the iPhone 5 sales prove that.

If my liking for a good cam phone would get the better of me, I'd buy a Pureview 808 for €240 rather than a Lumia 1020. Not because of the price but the size.

Yesterday I met someone with a Lumia 925. I asked her what the camera was like; if she had some pics to show. Reply? "Oh, I haven't used the camera, yet".
People are people. I know 4 people with iPhone 5s who only chose it because they have friends who use iMessage and Facetime. They don't care about Apple. In fact, one of them thinks iPhone is the generic term for all touchscreen phones.
Geeky nerdy bloggers and such make way too much of Apple vs Android vs WP. Most people use whatever for a wide range of reasons. Often just because of what the sales person suggests. (EVERY phonestore in Ireland - and I assume everywhere - has a list in the back office of devices to push! Fact. A lot of network stores a p*ssed because of Apple firmsale policies. Others dislike WP because carriers are not happy with Skype. Or, clerks just prefer Android. And push what they know/like)...

Where was I?

Ah, yes - C for China, not colour. 740 million subscribers.
Suck on that number, America and Europe.

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 9, 2013 at 16:28

Also: that colour circle image is worse than that old HTC Sense homescreen...

kas786  Sep. 9, 2013 at 16:31

Ms Porter (aka Jan St Porter) i think you've missed my point

My comment was with respect to the 5c & 5s which will hopefully be coming out in 2 weeks time. Both are "upgrades" from the current 5 model.

My point was why would someone buy the 5S over the 5C when the 2 models are near identical yet are likely to have a huge difference in price. 5C being plastic using the guts of the existing 5 series with a few minor changes will save some money BUT:

1) will it truly be a budget phone? A budget Android phone with a 4" display costs approx £90 (see Blade V on hukd) or £159 for a medium spec Android phone. Surely Apple won't release this sub £200 sim-free?
2) what would be the point of buying a 4, 4s or 5 after this newer 5c is released
3) why pay the extra £200-£300+ for a slightly improved 5s with a metallic body

At the end of the day no matter which iphone you're going to go with its going to be contained within a case. So how would you be able to tell you've got a 5s compared to the 5c?

I feel Cook is missing the point of providing a budget iPhone. Why not sell the 4 at a vastly reduced price? This will still allow Apple to keep selling their 4s & 5 models. With the introduction of this 5c watch the sales of the other iphones dropping markedly as who would want to pay extra for old tech?

Surely people aren't going to go out & buy an inferior product just as its got the Apple logo on, would they? Oh i forgot what about the Apple Mini (old 2-3 yr old tech sold successfully)!

I for one will be waiting hoping they won't be releasing the 5c purely as iPhone's are supposed to be a luxury item like Mac's. But if they do i think i'll be buying the 5c this year & saving a few £'s as a result :)

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 9, 2013 at 16:37

No, I didn't miss your point/s... I guess I just went astray.
As I mentioned here and there: I have been using a Nokia N9 since launch. I'd love to replace, but every time I use something new, something bugs me. I do NOT understand why someone would've upgraded from a 4 to a 4S - although I do like a good camera.
I do not understand why someone would upgrade from an SGS3 to a 4! Etc...

Also: the 4/4S will be phased out. Do you not think Apple can add 1+1?
Do you not think when they launched the iPod Touch 5th they knew it'd impact sales of 4th gen sales?

You are right.
My point is: people. Buying. Weird things. Happen.

And: they HAD to suck up to China Mobile! Same way they put a sim-slot in the 1st iPhone. Apple didn't want that.
They had to crack China, and the C is for them.

Stelph  Sep. 10, 2013 at 09:33


1) will it truly be a budget phone? A budget Android phone with a 4" display costs approx £90 (see Blade V on hukd) or £159 for a medium spec Android phone. Surely Apple won't release this sub £200 sim-free?
2) what would be the point of buying a 4, 4s or 5 after this newer 5c is released
3) why pay the extra £200-£300+ for a slightly improved 5s with a metallic body


I think this is the key point, pricing is whats going to be interesting, people keep talking about the 5C being "budget" but I expect Apple to have the 5C up in the £300+ price range, and to also cripple the 5C with software that is deactivated to make the 5S more appealing even tho jailbreakers will go on to show that the 5C hardware is more than capable (like with Siri for example)

I think the 5S will sell well because theres plenty of people who want the very best, and im sure Apple have spent the last year (or more) working out what features to activate/disable between the 5s and the 5c to ensure that the 5c is more appealing.. Also as to pricing, im sure people will scoff at the price that the "budget" 5C will be release at, remember that even before they had a "budget" range, the old models still sold well (i.e the 4 when the 4s was out etc) and those new prices for old tech were rediculous

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 10, 2013 at 11:14

I think

the media reception of both (?) new iPhones will be brutal.
Stars are built up high so you can cut them down when it suits you.
And what better time?

HTC in trouble.
Samsung's S4, reportedly, not selling. Reportedly because most people didn't perceive it as a significant upgrade from the S3.
Blackberry practically dead.
Nokia/MS? Who knows... one-trick-ponyism?

So, the mainstream media need a saviour. But it mustn't be Apple. Not so soon. Not again.

"Apple missed its chance"... too small, too expensive, too little new....

Then the new things hit the stores.
They won't sell as well as they used to in the US of A and the EU. But China Mobile customers will drive up sales figures.

Or... not.

Only a few hours left.

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: