The Nokia 808 PureView camera has 41 megapixels! (from MWC 2012)

The Nokia 808 PureView camera has 41 megapixels! (from MWC 2012)No, you didn't read that wrong. The Nokia N8 was already impressive enough with its 12MP camera and fantastic image quality, but its successor - the Nokia 808 PureView - ups the game considerably and more than triples the camera resolution.

So, where's the catch? Well, for one, the Nokia 808 PureView still utilizes Symbian, which simply isn't competitive with other modern operating systems. A Windows Phone version would be the obvious solution, but it seems like Nokia (and possibly Microsoft, due to limitations in Mango) aren't quite ready for that yet.

Besides that, a high megapixel count does have its own downsides too: photos captured at 41 megapixels will inevitably yield massive file sizes. Nokia addresses this by providing options to save images at 5, 8 or 38 megapixels. You actually won't be able to utilize the Nokia 808 PureView's full pixel count, since the sensor is square. If you choose one of the former two, you'll get both more manageable file sizes and higher pixel-level image quality, since several pixels of the original image are then combined in order to reduce noise.

However, the real fun begins with 38 megapixels. Due to the incredible amount of detail the Nokia 808 PureView is able to capture, you'll be able to crop images to "zoom in" after taking the photo, without losing too much detail. Nokia says this allows you "to choose the story you want to tell", and - for once - this actually isn't pure marketing nonsense.

As we all know, more megapixels doesn't necessarily equate to better image quality, as the individual pixels get too small. But hold on: the Nokia 808 PureView has a whopping 1/1.2in sensor, which, to give you some context, is bigger than any current compact camera. The biggest you'll find in that category is somewhere around 1/1.7in. Of course, for detailed analysis of the real image quality we'll have to wait for reviews, but considering the specs and Nokia's track record, there's not much doubt that this camera is going to be absolutely mind-blowing.

Add to that the fact that you're not only getting one, but two flash lights: one xenon flash - commonly found on standalone digital cameras - for photos, and an LED light for video. Even audio recording is getting a big boost. In a demo during this morning's presentation, you could literally hear each individual rice corn falling onto the floor.

As long as you can look past the fact that the Nokia 808 PureView runs Symbian, and is rather bulky, it can be yours for €450 pre-tax (£400+) from May.

Read more about: Nokia 808 PureViewSymbian

Add a comment
35 comments

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 12:47

http://europe.nokia.com/PRODUCT_METADATA_0/Products/Phones/8000-series/808/Specifications/Nokia_808_PureView_white_specifications_338x465.jpg

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 12:51

“The phone features a 41 MP camera sensor with PureView Pro imaging technology, powerful Xenon flash, LED video light and 1080p Full HD video recording with up to 4x lossless zoom that’s smooth and completely silent,” Nokia explains.

“It is also the world’s first device to include Nokia Rich Recording, which combines a unique digital microphone technology and Nokia algorithms to record distortion-free stereo audio at levels of up to 140 dB.”



16 GB internal user memory
Support for up to 48 GB with an external microSD memory card
Use as USB mass memory device for storing photos, documents and more
Talk time (maximum):

GSM up to 11 h
WCDMA up to 6.5 h

Standby time (maximum):

GSM up to 465 h
WCDMA up to 540 h

Screen size: 4"
Resolution: 16:9 nHD (640 x 360 pixels) AMOLED
16.7 million colours
ClearBlack display
Corning® Gorilla® Glass
2.5 D curved glass
Capacitive touch screen
Orientation sensor (Accelerometer)
Compass (magnetometer)
Proximity sensor
Ambient light detector
GPRS/EDGE class B, multislot class 33
HSDPA Cat10, maximum speed up to 14.4 Mbps, HSUPA Cat6 5.76 Mbps
GSM CS data class 33, GSM EGPRS data class 33, DTM 32
WLAN IEEE802.11 b/g/n with UPnP support
TCP/IP support
Capability to serve as data modem
Support for MS Outlook synchronisation of contacts, calendar and notes
Bluetooth 3.0
HDMI
DLNA
High-Speed USB 2.0 (micro USB connector)
Micro USB connector and charging
USB On-the-Go
3.5 mm Nokia standard audio connector with TV-out
Secure NFC
WLAN
A-GPS
FM transmitter

Full Specs of the 808 at Nokia.Com

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 12:51

http://europe.nokia.com/PRODUCT_METADATA_0/Products/Phones/8000-series/808/Gallery/Nokia_808_PureView_white_Front_Horizontal_400x400.png

Not pretty, if ya ask me...but I bet the camera will make this a hot cake.

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 13:02

Before anyone asks how much storage you need for a 41 MP photo - that is not how it works. In a nutshell the Nokia 808 'senses' a 41 MP image of incredible detail of which you then capture an equally incredibly detailed crisp 5MP cut-out.

So, the 16 GB storage (plus a max of 32 SD card expansion) is plenty.

Stelph  Feb. 27, 2012 at 13:52

Thats a big old lump of a camera on the back, also seems worryingly exposed to scrapes/scratches. Shame Nokia didnt have a lens cover of some description

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 13:56

Thats a big old lump of a camera on the back, also seems worryingly exposed to scrapes/scratches. Shame Nokia didnt have a lens cover of some description

Agreed!
Even if the lense is covered with Gorilla Glass (safe assumption), it'll suffer. And the entire back looks like a scratch-/fingerprint-magnet. It should ship with a clever case or not at all :p

Admin  Feb. 27, 2012 at 14:39

Any chance you can get some comparison shots with an iPhone or similar? Or even your fingers? To see how thick it is mainly.

Also some test pics would be awesome hehe

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 14:46

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-FbrsJmiqd8s/T0uXCzEoyKI/AAAAAAAAAC8/_ADNRLMjWcM/s720/Nokia%2520808.jpg

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 14:55

http://d3j5vwomefv46c.cloudfront.net/photos/large/526393188.jpg?key=640480&Expires=1330355464&Key-Pair-Id=APKAIYVGSUJFNRFZBBTA&Signature=CNPnz7DLcsD7QTftGorjarHta~o3U6supyFz0GVc-7HsZQRgYdnnBNiE6QqUZ3RYhwqwUQc5QSXj5YLTMBq0HVRvY1EU7MDId1Tz6WruEj8kJa0iuCMCayiHosbyCEtyIaEJN-vNTrpP--mJrO-UUpym-7ynGFy-xd4-4rXDeOo_

MDrX  Feb. 27, 2012 at 15:09

Is that an aperture control button centre-right?

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 15:35

Some stunning sample pics at Engadget

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 15:37

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-pBn5mfU6uIo/T0ujMei11lI/AAAAAAAAADc/-5yFu_eiSuI/s525/808sample2.jpg

matt101101 / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 15:40

The pictures look amazing, way better than my compact camera (or pictures from any compact camera I've seen). Does anyone know about zoom? If it's still only got digital zoom it'll never be able to compete with "proper" cameras.

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 15:51

The pictures look amazing, way better than my compact camera (or pictures from any compact camera I've seen). Does anyone know about zoom? If it's still only got digital zoom it'll never be able to compete with "proper" cameras.

Yes, it is digital zoom, but get your head around it - you are zooming virtually into a 41MP photo! It's not comparable to the crap we usually call digital zoom ;)

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 15:58

Treab  Feb. 27, 2012 at 16:50

Hate it.. sorry but it looks horrible to hold imo. tell me jan you in mwc? if so can you find out what it feels like to hold it like your making a call? that camera makes it look as though it would feel top heavy?

matt101101 / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 16:54

Treab, it's Lewis who's at MWC but I'm sure he can let you know what it's like in the hand.

Treab  Feb. 27, 2012 at 16:57

cause personally... i wanna see....

http://static.fjcdn.com/comments/Will+it+actually+blend+_e049be7cd667b6cdf151ea2064c61ef4.jpg

Treab  Feb. 27, 2012 at 16:58

Treab, it's Lewis who's at MWC but I'm sure he can let you know what it's like in the hand.

ahh soo mobot sent lewis and lewin to mwc but not our irish jan ... WUAHAHAHA ;)

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 17:02

cause personally... i wanna see....

http://static.fjcdn.com/comments/Will+it+actually+blend+_e049be7cd667b6cdf151ea2064c61ef4.jpg


What's up with that link? ;)

Matt's right: I'm not at MWC.
And somehow I don't think you give a ho*t what a Nokia feels like in your hand :p

Treab  Feb. 27, 2012 at 17:05

what link? mad man... have you not seen will it blend???

tbh this phone looks soo stupid and such a waste i dont see anyone buying it.

blizzard7  Feb. 27, 2012 at 18:07

I actually agree with Treab here. Why is the design simultaneously so conservative and so... strange. It looks like someone's left the phone on a stove and the battery has swollen.

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 18:11

I actually agree with Treab here. Why is the design simultaneously so conservative and so... strange. It looks like someone's left the phone on a stove and the battery has swollen.
Oh, it is ugly. They should have kept it N8-like, even if it meant more edges and thickness...
It looks cheap and fragile.

Admin  Feb. 27, 2012 at 18:51

Thanks for the links/pic! I'm using a galaxy nexus and the camera is so **** that a pimped up camera phone starts sounding attractive.

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 27, 2012 at 19:01

Thanks for the links/pic! I'm using a galaxy nexus and the camera is so **** that a pimped up camera phone starts sounding attractive.
Buy my N9 then ;) :p

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: