mrdisco

Do you think the Nokia 808 PureView is worth buying?

If the Nokia 808 PureView is about £465, do you think it's worth buying? The camera sounds really amazing.

Most Useful Answer blizzard7  Feb. 29, 2012 at 12:27

Any phone is about user-needs and personal opinion. One person might think a phone is 9 out of 10, while another may think the same phone is worth 6 out of 10.

If a high-quality camera is high up on your agenda, there's nothing to really compete with the PureView. It's simply the best in the smartphone class, to the point where it should even be able to replace a traditional compact point-and-shoot camera, it is really that good. However, everywhere else, this phone is pretty mediocre.

If you can compromise on the rest of the phone, then you may think it's worth it. Personally, I don't think £465 is worth it. You could buy a SIM-free HTC Sensation/ Galaxy S II and a compact camera for the same amount of money, but the convenience of having just one device may be priceless to you which renders that alternative useless.

If you were considering it, I'd wait till the Summer, where hopefully it'll come down in price.

Add a comment
31 comments

blizzard7  Feb. 29, 2012 at 12:27

Any phone is about user-needs and personal opinion. One person might think a phone is 9 out of 10, while another may think the same phone is worth 6 out of 10.

If a high-quality camera is high up on your agenda, there's nothing to really compete with the PureView. It's simply the best in the smartphone class, to the point where it should even be able to replace a traditional compact point-and-shoot camera, it is really that good. However, everywhere else, this phone is pretty mediocre.

If you can compromise on the rest of the phone, then you may think it's worth it. Personally, I don't think £465 is worth it. You could buy a SIM-free HTC Sensation/ Galaxy S II and a compact camera for the same amount of money, but the convenience of having just one device may be priceless to you which renders that alternative useless.

If you were considering it, I'd wait till the Summer, where hopefully it'll come down in price.

JanSt / MOD  Feb. 29, 2012 at 12:50

Yes,
Blizz is right. But then again, we do not know what the 8o8 will cost on contract or prepay.

evaneriah  Apr. 14, 2012 at 11:58

where i can buy nokia 808.???

Lietuvalietuviams  Jun. 10, 2012 at 16:36

Rubbish phone,tried it in Germany,not worth £450

JanSt / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 06:51

Rubbish phone,tried it in Germany,not worth £450

In Germany where it's not out, yet, or in that other Germany? :p
Sorry, tell us a bit more?! WHY is it rubbish?

Treab  Jun. 11, 2012 at 08:33

Rubbish phone,tried it in Germany,not worth £450

In Germany where it's not out, yet, or in that other Germany? :p
Sorry, tell us a bit more?! WHY is it rubbish?


Its a nokia :p

JanSt / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 09:35

Rubbish phone,tried it in Germany,not worth £450

In Germany where it's not out, yet, or in that other Germany? :p
Sorry, tell us a bit more?! WHY is it rubbish?


Its a nokia :p


Is that the Nokia you just bought a phone from, or that other Nokia? :p

matt101101 / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 10:58

In all honesty, if all you want is the camera, for ~£500 you could get a much better dedicated camera than the one that's on the back of the 808. A £400-500 DSLR and a £10 phone will be a far batter camera based way to make calls and send texts than the 808 will ever be.

But, as has already been mentioned, it's all about what you need and want, something we can't help you with.

Treab  Jun. 11, 2012 at 11:12

Rubbish phone,tried it in Germany,not worth £450

In Germany where it's not out, yet, or in that other Germany? :p
Sorry, tell us a bit more?! WHY is it rubbish?


Its a nokia :p


Is that the Nokia you just bought a phone from, or that other Nokia? :p


The other Nokia the pre windows phone symbian crab :p silly mod

JanSt / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 11:44

You fools. I will get one, and I will use it to destroy you! :p

matt101101 / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 11:55

You fools. I will get one, and I will use it to destroy you! :p
I'll have some of whatever he had for breakfast, thanks :p.

JanSt / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 12:36

You fools. I will get one, and I will use it to destroy you! :p
I'll have some of whatever he had for breakfast, thanks :p.


I just read the "PureView camera is like Retina display - once you used it, you won't go back"... So, it must be worth loads :p

Pondlife  Jun. 11, 2012 at 12:46

In all honesty, if all you want is the camera, for ~£500 you could get a much better dedicated camera than the one that's on the back of the 808. A £400-500 DSLR and a £10 phone will be a far batter camera based way to make calls and send texts than the 808 will ever be.

Well that's always been the case with camera phones and yet several in the past have largely sold on far less impressive cameras.

Comes down to the slightly blah blah blah convergence argument of the best camera being the one you have with you. And this is I guess more likely to be to hand than a dslr or a compact system or likely even a pocket cam.

I like it more as a concept than something I'd want to use though and that price tag does push me firmly away. Still an impressive piece of kit though for what it is.

JanSt / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 15:46

Well,
The first 3 iPhones were more expensive. With crap cams...
And to be honest - I find a lot of the current flagships only stand out by "being really, like, fast"... The number of apps is irrelevant - especially as £100 phones get pretty much the same amount of apps that the over-hyped SGS3 gets.

I'm not saying the PureView 808 is great. In fact: it's butt-ugly, the material looks silly. and the unprotected bump is an obvious design flaw.
There still isn't a really good camera-centric phone to replace the Nokia N8. HTC's One S and the iPhone 4S are close - but only on an ease-of-use and fun-factor level.
There is an equivalent of almost all Top 100 apps available for Symbian; Belle is pretty fast, too - even with just one core ;)

So, an outstanding cam in a decent allrounder isn't worth big money? The Apple Logo isn't worth big money? Quad-cores aren't necessarily woth big money? More apps? Nope? Pentil? Nope? Sense UI? Nope. TouchWiz? Nope. WP? Nope. Too open? Nope? Too "walled-in"? Nope....

Just don't buy it. Or buy it.

Treab  Jun. 11, 2012 at 16:07

Lets all be honest its worth £50 bit like all Nokia's and Jan i paid 90 with £10 credit :p

matt101101 / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 16:31

Lets all be honest its worth £50 bit like all Nokia's and Jan i paid 90 with £10 credit :p
Why did you pay 80% more than your Nokia's maximum value ;)?

JanSt / MOD  Jun. 11, 2012 at 16:35

Treab's still denying that he bought a Lumia 900 by accident? Tsssk... the youth of today.

Treab  Jun. 11, 2012 at 16:36

Lets all be honest its worth £50 bit like all Nokia's and Jan i paid 90 with £10 credit :p
Why did you pay 80% more than your Nokia's maximum value ;)?


Patience... I have none

Treab  Jun. 11, 2012 at 16:37

Treab's still denying that he bought a Lumia 900 by accident? Tsssk... the youth of
today.


If i did i got a bargain ROFL

briggs9187  Nov. 27, 2012 at 06:22

Symbian is still a good OS, the problems are minor but for some reason Nokia refuses to fix them. One, the Browser, it needs what the N900 had, a Firefox Desktop Version, In my Opinion, the best Nokia Browser up to date. Two Ram and Single Core issues, This phone could in fact be faster than a laptop if it had 1gig ram and a dual core processor. Three, Apps and user cross platform compatibility. I know that there was a push for easy transfer of apps between platforms, from Symbian, Meego and Maemo, for some reason they never made it happen. Come on Nokia, you can do this with ease.

JanSt / MOD  Nov. 27, 2012 at 11:48

Symbian is still a good OS, the problems are minor but for some reason Nokia refuses to fix them. One, the Browser, it needs what the N900 had, a Firefox Desktop Version, In my Opinion, the best Nokia Browser up to date. Two Ram and Single Core issues, This phone could in fact be faster than a laptop if it had 1gig ram and a dual core processor. Three, Apps and user cross platform compatibility. I know that there was a push for easy transfer of apps between platforms, from Symbian, Meego and Maemo, for some reason they never made it happen. Come on Nokia, you can do this with ease.

Firefox Mobile? Oh my.... c'mon - it's horrible.
Sure, the Symbian browser has been awful from day 1, and Belle hasn't changed that.
But there's Opera Mobile and Opera Mini. Both are miles ahead of Firefox Mobile - all that has going for it is the bookmark sync, but Opera can do that, too.

And many QT apps are available on Symbian AND MeeGo and S40.

Pondlife  Nov. 27, 2012 at 12:16

Well he did specifically say Firefox Desktop Version so not Firefox Mobile I guess

JanSt / MOD  Nov. 27, 2012 at 12:34

What phone does that? If you install Ubuntu or Debian on an N900 or HD2 maybe :p

Clearly, the 808 is all about the camera. And Symbian doesn't need dual-core or 2GB RAM...

Not to mention: how did this restart? Hahaha

Has anyone seen a Galaxy camera on (actual) sale?

JanSt / MOD  Nov. 27, 2012 at 12:37

Oh, now I get it - I was pre-coffee earlier.
The N900 had NO firefox 'desktop' browser unless you ran desktop Debian on it. And impressive as that was, it was no way to run a usable MOBILE PHONE!!! Phone!

mogambo  Nov. 27, 2012 at 15:36

Absolutely! If you like blown out highlights(dpreview) in your photos or the absolute resolution of ~3100 LPH/~12,7 megapixels(check out the resolution chart at gsmarena) - a whopping 33% of the 38 effective megapixels in the specs.

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: