Nokia Lumia 820, Lumia 920 PureView set for Nokia World reveal?

Nokia Lumia 820, Lumia 920 PureView set for Nokia World reveal?With Nokia World just four days away, the rumours are coming thick and fast – in fact there are several different theories now as to what Nokia has up its sleeves for the Helsinki event.

In the past 24 hours alone we've seen renders of two supposed Windows Phone 8 Nokia handsets leak via Twitter – one of them a much-anticipated PureView device – only for another pic to show up later in the day looking completely different.

EVLeaks is taking the credit for the first leak, and says what we're looking at is high-quality images of the Nokia Lumia 820 and the Nokia Lumia 920 PureView, with both set to be unveiled next week.

The 920 PureView is obviously the one we're most excited about, as if it brings anything like the same camera performance to Windows Phone that we've seen on the Nokia 808, it could be something pretty special.

According to the rumours it will feature a 4.5in screen, while all we've been told about the lesser Lumia 820 is that its screen size will be 4.3in.

Design-wise, both are very much in the same vein as the existing Lumia family, which depending on your personal tastes is either a good or a bad thing, while Nokia's standard riot of colours look like they've been rolled out in full force too.

However, later in the day we saw another batch of images hitting the web via CoolXap, this time real-life snaps supposedly of the Lumia 820.

However, there are some differences to the earlier render – most notably that the camera housing has moved and that the screen is flat rather than curved. Of course it could simply be a case of the inevitable tweaks that occur in turning a set of images into a real-world device, but we'll hold off judgement for now.

Nokia World kicks off next Wednesday, September 5.

Via WPCentral

Read more about: Windows Phone

Add a comment
14 comments

Pondlife  Sep. 1, 2012 at 12:59

Be surprised if they can get full pureview camera in a wp8 phone atm as firstly they've hinted it'll be next year at best, and secondly what would be the point in releasing the 808 however reluctantly.

Betas  Sep. 1, 2012 at 14:01

Reckon it will be pv "light" tbh, probs a sensor about half the size.

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 1, 2012 at 16:06

Agree... I doubt it'll be 808-like Pureview...
And an admission: me like... But I reckon they are fakes.

Pondlife  Sep. 1, 2012 at 17:44

Not that different from old ones in appearance are they?

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 1, 2012 at 18:24

No

Pondlife  Sep. 1, 2012 at 19:38

I'll agree then as I think they'd want them to stand out a bit at least.

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 1, 2012 at 19:44

Yes, One of hem at least shouldn't be just another N9 clone***... I guess a fat PureView bump would make it 'stand out', though...

***though I do like the N9 design and quallity.

Pondlife  Sep. 1, 2012 at 19:53

I can't see them having a pureview bump if they are only launching with cut down version.

But if you can't see immediately with the screen off that it's wp8 not wp7 I think they've failed somewhat.
Though not like the concept phone please Nokia. Eeek.

satchef1  Sep. 1, 2012 at 19:57

I'm not sure the Pureview 'light' observation is really on the mark to be honest. The 808 is unique. It probably won't be done again for some time - Nokia put camera performance first, over form and the spec sheet. This allowed them to include a large, powerful sensor which is more powerful than anything else in a mobile phone. Pureview isn't this camera, it's the processing technology that enhances it. Pureview allows the 808 to compete outside of the smartphone class, elevating the capabilities of that sensor to the point where it can compete with the very best compact cameras in the world.

With Windows Phone this can't happen. A flagship Windows Phone device is 4.5"+, it has a 1366x768 screen, a dual core Snapdragon S4, 1GB of RAM, 16GB+ of internal storage, an SD card slot, a compass, a gyro, NFC. To include such a large sensor in that handset would make it unwieldy and distinctly unpocketable. The 808 was a niche device. The next flagship Lumia has to compete with the iPhone 5, Galaxy SIII, Note II, other WP handsets and possibly a new Nexus device. In order to do so, it needs a the best camera that will fit inside a slim shell. Even if 41MP was possible, it still wouldn't come close to the pictures that the 808 can produce.

If the 808 is the benchmark for a 'true' Pureview handset, then we're unlikely to see another for a long, long time unless Nokia feels like compromising form again to produce the best camera phone possible. If it does, that device still won't be a flagship. If the Pureview technology works, I can't see how a 21MP handset could be considered anything but a Pureview handset to be honest - it's the best we're likely to get for a while and will still blow the competition out of the water (unless Apple have a trick up their sleeve for iP5).

Pondlife  Sep. 1, 2012 at 20:11

Call it what they like, if it isn't as good as the 808 then I'm in no way interested. And of course it's the benchmark, they may wish they'd never mentioned it let alone released it, but it's now undoubtedly the benchmark.

To say that those specs exclude having the camera is a bit mad I'd say though. But the pureview lumia doesn't have to be the flagship and can have lower but adequate specs to include the full pureview experience.

satchef1  Sep. 1, 2012 at 22:56

If the 808 is the benchmark then all smartphones and almost all compact cameras fail.

This handset is the real test for the Pureview tech. The 808 demonstrated how good it could be under ideal, but not exactly realistic (in terms of mass-market appeal) conditions. If Pureview can take a small 21MP sensor and produce photos that are as good as the average person's compact camera (~£100-£200 models) then Nokia have something worth shouting about. It would be the first mainstream phone that can truly replace a compact camera, and unlike the 808 it won't ask the customer to compromise by carrying around a bulky handset all of the time.

The 808 is amazing, but it's too far. It's bigger than most people want in order to produce pictures that are better than most people need.

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 1, 2012 at 23:03

If the 808 is the benchmark then all smartphones and almost all compact cameras fail.

This handset is the real test for the Pureview tech. The 808 demonstrated how good it could be under ideal, but not exactly realistic (in terms of mass-market appeal) conditions. If Pureview can take a small 21MP sensor and produce photos that are as good as the average person's compact camera (~£100-£200 models) then Nokia have something worth shouting about. It would be the first mainstream phone that can truly replace a compact camera, and unlike the 808 it won't ask the customer to compromise by carrying around a bulky handset all of the time.

The 808 is amazing, but it's too far. It's bigger than most people want in order to produce pictures that are better than most people need.


well put.

Pondlife  Sep. 2, 2012 at 04:05

Well put maybe but it's not enough to excite and entice into buying a nokia lumia is it.

And without the large (relative to other phones) sensor it can't produce pics as good as the average (£100 (and you can forget about £200)) compact camera.

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 2, 2012 at 09:53

I meant satchef's final paragraph specifically, in case that was unclear.
I'm personally not sure a 'pureview lite' WP device could secure a hit for Nokia's WP department. But I think in combination with other changes to the OS it might improve sales significantly - mass storage, more personalisation etc etc.
We'll see.
For now I take those leaked photos with some salt

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: