Nokia’s camera guy details 808 PureView vs Lumia 920

Nokia’s camera guy details 808 PureView vs Lumia 920Nokia lifted the lid on the Windows Phone 8-rockin’ Lumia 920 last week, and one of the big features was the camera-related stuff.

Indeed, seemingly loads of people have been screaming “What’s the difference between the camera on the Nokia 808 PureView and the Lumia 920?!”

You’ll no doubt remember the Nokia 808 PureView was the big surprise of this year’s Mobile World Congress. It was entirely unexpected (is that fair to say?) and popped up with a whopping 41 megapixels.

Now, over on twitter, Damian Dinning explains the difference between the Nokia 808 PureView and the Lumia 920 when it comes to camera features. Ready?

It’s a bit of a mess, what with twitter’s character restriction and the bottom-to-top chronology, so I’m gonna copy and paste into a beautiful list. Behold!

  1. in situations where camera movement is not an issue #808 will provide more detailed images with less noise due to oversampling. where camera movement is evident for either stills (typically low light) or videos #920 will be better due to OIS
  2. In low light if devices are handheld and used in auto #920 will be better due to OIS - no blur and brighter images. if #808 is used in night mode or manual ISO allowing speeds to 2.7secs and supported it will provide better images due to oversampling
  3. In video, for most people, due to OIS you'll get smoother looking videos with #920. #808 however in video does provide lossless zoom oversampling due to high res sensor
  4. in terms of audio recording, the difference is mono in the #920 vs #808 which is stereo.
  5. #808 due to high res sensor has lossless zoom in stills and as already mentioned also in video.
  6. #920 thanks to the new capabilities of the #WP8 platform can use 'lens' apps. This allows greater extension of the camera capabilities ....you'll see this at launch with some cool lenses from #Nokia such as Smart Shoot and Cinemagraph, wih more to come in the future ....we're VERY excited about some of those we have in the pipeline :)

Damian points out: “actual side by side comparisons of course will be required to see specific differences important to you personally.” Damn straight.

Read more about: Nokia 808 PureViewNokia Lumia 920Windows PhoneSymbian

Add a comment
11 comments

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 10, 2012 at 12:16

98.7638% of people who want to know about the difference wouldn't consider buying the 808 anyways because they fell for all the "its OS is so obsolete" propaganda... What do they care about the differences?

Pondlife  Sep. 10, 2012 at 13:43

98.7639% that's a rounding error. Because they'd like to feel like they aren't getting a second rate version of pureview....

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 10, 2012 at 13:48

98.7639% that's a rounding error. Because they'd like to feel like they aren't getting a second rate version of pureview....

Sure... people!

Tams80  Sep. 10, 2012 at 20:00

There's nothing really specially about the 'lens' apps. They are basically just camera apps; though they have a higher than average quality.

Why do I get the feeling that if Nokia hadn't gone down the WP8 route (or at least not to the same extent), that the 808 would have had OIS, a larger aperture and possibly even PureMotion HD+.

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 10, 2012 at 21:53

There's nothing really specially about the 'lens' apps. They are basically just camera apps; though they have a higher than average quality.

Why do I get the feeling that if Nokia hadn't gone down the WP8 route (or at least not to the same extent), that the 808 would have had OIS, a larger aperture and possibly even PureMotion HD+.

Hard to prove, but plausible. They probably knew it'd take time to pack 'real' pureview into a sleek high-end device, and so, maybe, they decided to hold back some goodies for the next WP batch?! Yes...

MiklosP  Sep. 10, 2012 at 23:46

If you look carefully at the pictures released as 920's shots (not the fake DSLR shots ones that Nokia smartly tried to cover up), they are not comparable to the quality produced by a Nokia 808. I second Jan on this that having "filters" or lens apps wouldn't compensate - these are mere effects. If one is to buy one of these purely for the camera, it would have to be Nokia 808. In contrary to popular belief, the OS is usable if you not apps savvy and there's a Belle update in line too.

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 11, 2012 at 03:22

If you look carefully at the pictures released as 920's shots (not the fake DSLR shots ones that Nokia smartly tried to cover up), they are not comparable to the quality produced by a Nokia 808. I second Jan on this that having "filters" or lens apps wouldn't compensate - these are mere effects. If one is to buy one of these purely for the camera, it would have to be Nokia 808. In contrary to popular belief, the OS is usable if you not apps savvy and there's a Belle update in line too.

Agree. I keep a Nokia 701 for 'sentimental' reasons. Belle is very snappy. The coming update for the Nokia Pureview 808 brings, among other things, a new, PROPER keyboard (very similar to Jan Ole Suhr's design that can be used in the excellent Gravity).
I tried the SGS3, the One X/S etc etc etc this year (for at least a week each - not 5 minutes in the shop)... I do not miss a single app when I use my N9 or, occasionally, the 701.
Gravity is the best social networking app on any OS, Opera Mini is fast and more stable on Symbian than on iOS and Android. You can get dropbox, skype, pinterest and Angry blah blah blah... Yes, high-end Android devices and the iPhone are faster and smoother, but if that is all you're interested in, toss warm butter into a hot fan :p

BiggusDickus808  Sep. 11, 2012 at 06:52

If there's no oversampling, it's not PureView. Period.

Nokia Lumia 920 is just Microsoft's indirect bait-and-switch way to hijack the PureView brand by putting OIS onto a regular 8MP camera sensor and calling it 'PureView'.

Going by Nokia's plunging share price and market share since the appointment of Stephen Elop and the announcement of the 'strategic partnership' with Microsoft, I hope Mr Elop gets sacked and Nokia proceeds with Plan B without Microsoft.

Pondlife  Sep. 11, 2012 at 10:33

The article even says the picture under perfect conditions will be better on 808, low light ones do appear better on 920 though and maybe for many users that will be more beneficial. Yay better quality pics of **** up people in pubs and clubs on Facebook and everywhere else.

And damn you are obsessed with that Gravity app Jan.

Wouldn't the 808 have needed to be even bigger to have an ois framework around the large sensor.

Tams80  Sep. 11, 2012 at 14:58


Hard to prove, but plausible. They probably knew it'd take time to pack 'real' pureview into a sleek high-end device, and so, maybe, they decided to hold back some goodies for the next WP batch?! Yes...


Well, I did say "Why do I get the feeling", not that I know at all; just an observation.

I'm don't know much about PureView Phase 2, but from what I can tell the main difference is that the aperture is bigger. There is also the OIS. The 808 is quite large though, so I don't think either would have been that difficult to incorporate (especially the larger aperture).

I think the 808 doesn't have either because as Nokia have said, it was too far along in development. I do still think that had Nokia not gone down the WP route as much, or at all, that there might have been additions to the 808.

Pondlife  Sep. 11, 2012 at 15:19

Well it is big because it needed to be and I think ois would've added to the depth further as the sensor needs wriggle room

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: