October 2013 preview

October 2013 previewA couple of days ago I penned September 2013 in review, detailing the month that saw the launch of the iPhone 5S, iPhone 5C, Samsung Galaxy Note 3 and Sony Xperia Z1 (among others), as well as the death of Nokia at the hands of Microsoft.

Not to be outdone, October 2013 threatens to deliver a multitude of shiny new devices, with four or five key dates to mark in your diary.

I guess the logical way to do this is calendar order. Ready? Let’s dance.

October 2013 previewOctober 14 – Google Nexus 5, Kit Kat Android 4.4 launch

Getting the party started around the middle of the month, we’re told to expect the launch of the Google Nexus 5, alongside Kit Kat Android 4.4. Yes, as in the chocolate biscuit thingy.

The Google Nexus 5 has been leaked like crazy over the past month or so, and as such we know exactly what to expect in terms of aesthetics.

As for Google Nexus 5 specs, it’ll supposedly be based on the LG G2, with a 5in 1080p display, Qualcomm Snapdragon 600 or 800 processor, and 2-3GB of RAM.

The major talking point with the Google Nexus 5, however, is the price, with it tipped to cost around half as much as an iPhone 5S. No complaints here.

The Google Nexus 5 will also debut Kit Kat Android 4.4. Google says: “It's our goal with Android KitKat to make an amazing Android experience available for everybody.”

Oh, and not forgetting those rumours of an Asus-built Google Nexus 10.

October 2013 previewOctober 15 – iPad 5, iPad mini 2 launch

The iPhone 5S and iPhone 5C are well and truly here, so now we turn our attention to the latest iTablets, namely the iPad 5 and iPad mini 2.

The iPad 5 is said to be thinner and lighter than the iPad 4 (which wouldn’t be difficult considering the latter’s beastly form), with less bezel around the display. Inevitably it’ll have a faster processor too, yadda yadda yadda.

As for the iPad mini 2, well, there are still rumours that it mightn’t show this month after all, on account of yield problems pertaining to the much-discussed Retina display. It’s maybe kinda possible that we’ll see a nippier iPad mini this month, and a full Retina chap early next year.

Apple also has the iWatch in the works, but with the Samsung Galaxy Gear launching to a resounding “meh”, we doubt the Californians are in a hurry to unveil their take on the smartwatch.

October 2013 previewOctober 15 or 17 – HTC One Max launch

The HTC One Max was largely expected to make an appearance at IFA 2013. Alas, it failed to show face, leaving Samsung and Sony to steal the limelight.

There are actually two rumoured HTC One Max launch dates, specifically October 15 and October 17, though with Apple supposedly launching stuff on the former, our money’s on the latter.

In any case, rumoured HTC One Max specs include a 5.9in 1080p display, Qualcomm Snapdragon 600 or 800 processor, Jelly Bean Android 4.3, Sense 5.5, and a hardware design that’s largely in keeping with the HTC One – including front-firing stereo BoomSound speakers.

The other key HTC One Max feature is the panel on the back, said to be a fingerprint scanner, the idea being that it’s where your finger rests naturally when you pick up the phone.

October 2013 previewOctober 22 – Nokia Lumia 1520, Nokia Lumia 2520 launch

With Microsoft swooping in to purr-chase the former world’s number one mobile manufacturer, this year’s Nokia World could be the Finns’ last hurrah, but they look set to go out with a bang.

For starters, we have the Nokia Lumia 1520 phablet (that's it next to the Sony Xperia Z1, apparently). With a 6in 1080p display, it’ll be the largest Windows Phone handset to date, and also the first to sport a full HD resolution.

Other rumoured Nokia Lumia 1520 specs include a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB internal storage, and a 20MP rear camera. Not too shabby.

Moving on to Nokia’s first tablet, the Lumia 2520 or “Sirius”, it’s tipped to come with a 10.1in HD display, Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 2GB of RAM, and 32GB internal storage.

Of course, with this being a full-blown Nokia World event, expect to meet a handful of other stuff too, possibly something Asha-flavoured.

Read more about: AndroidiOSWindows Phone

Add a comment
 1 comment

JanSt / MOD  Oct. 3, 2013 at 13:10

I'd like to see a smaller Lumia with a great camera.
The 808 was a 4-incher. Yes, it had a bump, but still - do we need to buy a giant slab for some decent camera action - or rely on Apple?


You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.