miffyl

Why do my reviews on Google Play store keep disappearing?

I've added a few reviews recently (generally low) to various apps but when I go back in to the app later, my reviews have disappeared. Has anyone else noticed the same?

An example is MyCalc Calculator - I gave it a 1 star review as I hate developers that release new versions but don't give any info as to why. This app gives 'what's new' as: Support the App! Please rate and comment.

That's not a reason to update it so I gave 1 star and gave that reason. No matter how many times I do it, the review won't stay.

Without abusing me for my reviewing choices, has anyone else had similar problems?

Most Useful Answer JanSt  Apr. 14, 2014 at 22:36

Nope. Only reason could be that you indicated in your review that you hadn't actually used/installed the app due to the description?!
I'm really only guessing. I find the appstores ALL scandalous when it comes to matters of commentary, reviews etc...
I have recently BOUGHT apps for both iOS and WP. Apps that I PAID for nag me upon first start to review them. WTF? A) I paid. So do NOT NAG me. B) 1st use and I'm supposed to rate it? F*ck off!

Add a comment
12 comments

JanSt / MOD  Apr. 14, 2014 at 22:36

Nope. Only reason could be that you indicated in your review that you hadn't actually used/installed the app due to the description?!
I'm really only guessing. I find the appstores ALL scandalous when it comes to matters of commentary, reviews etc...
I have recently BOUGHT apps for both iOS and WP. Apps that I PAID for nag me upon first start to review them. WTF? A) I paid. So do NOT NAG me. B) 1st use and I'm supposed to rate it? F*ck off!

matt101101 / MOD  Apr. 14, 2014 at 23:08

Begging for reviews gets them a 1* review and then the app gets uninstalled, that's what I do anyway. If I want to review something, I will do, if I don't, I won't. I DO NOT want or need to be asked to do it by the developer or publisher. As you say, Jan, it's even more unacceptable on paid apps, especially when the interrupt the user experience to nag about it.

JanSt / MOD  Apr. 15, 2014 at 00:21

Begging for reviews gets them a 1* review and then the app gets uninstalled, that's what I do anyway. If I want to review something, I will do, if I don't, I won't. I DO NOT want or need to be asked to do it by the developer or publisher. As you say, Jan, it's even more unacceptable on paid apps, especially when the interrupt the user experience to nag about it. EXACTLY. I don't mind reviewing. But ask after a few uses, and only before CLOSING the app. Not mid-use or on 1st opening. That is unacceptable.
I downloaded a WP app that would only open AFTER you said "OK" to "would you like to rate this app?"... I mean, hello???!!!! That is what you want? Ratings based on NO USAGE!?
But then again, the WP8 appstore has, amongst other gems an app called iTunes (it makes ringtones), about 15 fake Opera browser, a dozen Twitter "apps" that are just the mobile site... and then some!

miffyl  May. 9, 2014 at 08:43

I've even tried adding the reviews through the Play Store in a browser but they still vanish. The other that irritates me is Groupon - their destination is in German FFS. I normally xenophobe but I do like to read my first language in my own country! (I know I could use Google Translate but why should I?) What's New
3.1: Androidappen har fått en helt ny design med ett nytt fräscht utseende. Prova att utforska appen och köpa deals i dag.
Andra funktioner inkluderar:
- Support för Förenade Arabemiraten
- Snabbare uppstart
- Mindre buggfixar och förbättringar
I have both apps installed so it's not that I've never installed them - the point being I won't install them unless I know what I'm getting!

miffyl  May. 9, 2014 at 08:47

Spelling errors above ^^^ but I can't edit them - insert 'description' for destination and 'am not' for normally.

(adds a different slant on my post).

The last sentence should say update not install.

JanSt / MOD  May. 9, 2014 at 09:10

They all suck and need to be taught a lesson.
Couple of days ago I downloaded a 50MB photo app for iOS. Description read interesting...
But: upon first start I'm asked to "Sign up first" - email and password. No description of why I had to sign up, where, and what T&Cs applied. Closed the app, went back to the appstore. Yep, no mention of any online service on had to sign up to first. Uninstalled the app and gave it 1 star and very angry review...

I think the app stores all need to get their act together. The malware side of things everyone is always talking about, but the devs/vendors of apps are getting worse imho when it comes to describing their stuff. Costs, services, update lists etc... FFS there are apps advertised in English ... um, Almost-English where one actually cannot even hazard a guess what they're actually advertising!

If a supermarket put something on the shelf in a white box that only says "kinda tastes" .... there'd be all sorts of legal and consumer rights issues.

Jellybean1088  Jun. 20, 2014 at 13:20

Have you figured anything out yet? I have tried several times with several apps to leave reviews, and every time it *says* it's saving, but when I go back to check and there's nothing! SO frustrating!!

Edit* It's beginning to look like it will not save the review unless you keep the app on your device?? The most current review that will not save for me was left on an app that I deleted just after rating and it wouldn't save. I reinstalled and tried the review again and it seems to stick now. Could just be a coincidence, but I don't know. What a shame if that's really the case. I'd hate to have all my space taken up with apps that suck just because I want to leave feedback!

JanSt / MOD  Jun. 20, 2014 at 23:16

Wouldn't surprise me, though...

AhmadCentral  Jun. 21, 2014 at 09:21

Edit: tried to make a joke... didn't work.

JanSt / MOD  Jun. 21, 2014 at 09:43

Edit: tried to make a joke... didn't work.
I think it did. Work :D

Baseman169  Jan. 1, 2015 at 16:23

LETS GET BACK ON TOPIC HERE PEOPLE - OUR VANISHING REVIEWS!

There have been a few apps I've left reviews on where the review has disappeared. Mainly these reviews were saying I refuse to update. I agree that what ever we have to say about an app should remain and the developer should not have the option to remove a review just because it isn't liked. I feel it's fair to remove a review if you do not have the app installed and I guess it's a fine line between having once had the app installed and reviewing it, then removing the app, if the review should stay. I'm leaning towards the review staying so others can read why you've removed it.

If anyone has a link or something about Google's policy on app reviews and developers control over the reviews, I'd love to read it so please post it if you find any info.

JanSt / MOD  Jan. 1, 2015 at 20:19

LETS GET BACK ON TOPIC HERE PEOPLE - OUR VANISHING REVIEWS!

There have been a few apps I've left reviews on where the review has disappeared. Mainly these reviews were saying I refuse to update. I agree that what ever we have to say about an app should remain and the developer should not have the option to remove a review just because it isn't liked. I feel it's fair to remove a review if you do not have the app installed and I guess it's a fine line between having once had the app installed and reviewing it, then removing the app, if the review should stay. I'm leaning towards the review staying so others can read why you've removed it.

If anyone has a link or something about Google's policy on app reviews and developers control over the reviews, I'd love to read it so please post it if you find any info.


I don't agree that people shouldn't be able to review an app they do not currently have on their phone. Where do we stop? Where does Google stop? If you delete app within, say, a week of your posting a review, it gets removed. Why? Why NOT....? If an app performs so poorly, if it actually makes other phone functions perform poorly, I feel entitled to uninstall asap. And THEN review. I keep cr*p installed, so I can 'review' cr*p? Ridiculous. Whether it's installed or not, they KNOW you had it. It's in your download history. There is nothing they do not know!!!
So, it's not about proving actual experience. It's BECAUSE!
Furthermore: some apps prompt for a review upon 1st usage. That further proves my point: what do I know about the app upon 1st opening? NOTHING. But they want me to rate it?
Ah.... Interesting!

I agree that one shouldn't have to have the latest version of an app in order to review. That is just ridiculous, also. If it doesn't suit my phone, I still 'update'? Even though the stated "Requirements" were inaccurate the first time around??? Bah!

It is known from a number of studies that a large chunk of reviews in the appstores are
fake. Not just Google Play. I have seen apps in the WP marketplace that literally do nothing.
Hoax apps. No kidding... And some of them have 4 or 5 star reviews. Ridiculous.


Those are just a couple of my thought.
The Play Store is one of the main reasons I no longer use Android.
The other? Update frequencies. I appreciate what developers do - there are over 15,000 distinct Android phone and tablet models worldwide. No kidding. They have to cater
to the 50 owners of some obscure model from 2 years ago. It's tough.

But nah... it's not for me. In 2014 I used an M8 on and off for 3 months. I know what apps I need - I'm not an app junkie or app hog. In addition to the preinstalled stuff, I had 10 apps downloaded from the Play Store. 10. Not the average of over 60 (or 100 if you believe other 'studies')... Yet: updates updates updates... EVERY. Single. DAY. That isn't my OS. An OS I use, works for me. I don't work for it. :p (and don't say, "well, you can set up auto-updates". Who does that? That is the worst feature ever. I auto-update a working app to a screwy new version? Or a new version that kills exactly the feature I liked? Dumb...

It's like Tesco reshuffling shelves and departments whenever the first 10 people figured out where stuff is kept in the store :D

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: