September 2014: the month in review

September 2014: the month in reviewTime was, January and February were the blockbuster months for mobile announcements, encompassing both CES in Las Vegas and Mobile World Congress (MWC) in Barcelona. But more recently, September and October have established themselves as the real headline makers, and this year’s month9 didn’t disappoint.

Before we embrace October madness, let’s take a moment to digest everything that happened in mobile in September. Or all the important stuff, at least.

How should we do this? Vaguely chronological order? You got it!

September 2014: the month in reviewIFA 2014 (Samsung)

IFA is the spiritual home of the Samsung Galaxy Note, with every model to date having launched in Berlin, and indeed the Galaxy Note 4 debuted at this year’s show – much to no one’s surprise.

The Samsung Galaxy Note 4 essentially takes the Galaxy Note 3 and shoves in a bunch of top-of-the-range specs, while the Galaxy Note Edge has an additional portion of display along the right hand, er, edge.

While generally quite well received, the Samsung Galaxy Note 4 in particular appears to have been spooked by the iPhone 6 (more on that phone below), with the release date brought forward in Korea, and the price tipped to drop by as much as 34% within three months.

Meanwhile, the niche Samsung Galaxy Note Edge is expected to sell a modest one million units before the year’s out.

September 2014: the month in reviewIFA 2014 (Sony)

Samsung remains the Big Daddy of the mobile world, but Japanese rival Sony arguably put on a more impressive show in Berlin.

Sony’s IFA 2014 hand was very much ‘3’ themed, including the Xperia Z3 flagship, Xperia Z3 Tablet Compact, SmartWatch 3 wearable, and the Xperia E3 budget handset.

Potentially the star of the show, however, was the Sony Xperia Z3 Compact. 4.6in HD display? Check. Qualcomm Snapdragon 801 processor? Check. 2GB of RAM? Check. 20.7MP rear camera? Check. MicroSD? Check.

Incidentally, at the time of writing, we’re seeing the Sony Xperia Z3 Compact going for £344.99 SIM free @ mobilephonesdirect. Not too shabby at all.

September 2014: the month in reviewIFA 2014 (Motorola)

Manufacturers across the globe appear to have signed a pact agreeing that smartphone names should be as baffling as possible, and Motorola didn’t disappoint with – no, not the Moto X+1, but – the Moto X. Consensus seems to be we should stick “(2014)” afterwards. Y’know, in order to differentiate between TWO DIFFERENT PHONES.

And how about technically the third iteration of the Motorola Moto G – the Moto G? Oh, sweet Moses.

Names aside, Motorola has – somewhat surprisingly – built a rather impressive portfolio of smartphones, with the Moto G continuing to dazzle at the low end, while the spanking new Moto X (2014) is way more flagship than last year’s model.

To sweeten the deal, the Motorola Moto X (2014) brings Moto Maker with it this year, and I was thoroughly impressed when I put together a phone with a white front, metallic orange trim and ebony rear, mmm…

IFA 2014 (the other players)

I’d be here all day if I were to detail everything that happened at this year’s show, so for the best of the rest, I’ll hand you over to our Review of the week (IFA 2014 edition).

September 2014: the month in reviewApple (iPhone 6, iPhone 6 Plus, Apple Watch)

We’d been talking about them for, well, pretty much a year, and September 2014 finally saw the launch of the 4.7in iPhone 6, and the 5.5in iPhone 6 Plus (for an in-depth teardown, check out iPhone 6 vs. iPhone 6 Plus: what's the difference?).

Needless to say, the phones went on to smash pre-order records, with 10 million sold in their first three days. Take that, Samsung.

As per tradition, a relatively minor problem has been blown out of all proportion, with the “bendgate” hashtag used to spread word of the iPhone 6 Plus bending out of shape.

Every man and his dog has taken a pot shot at the bendiness (one of our favourites being Conan O’Brien’s), but Apple recorded just nine complaints in six days.

And for the first time in a while, we had a “one more thing” from Apple, this time in the shape of – no, not the “iWatch”, but – the Apple Watch. That name will take some getting used to, but the Apple Watch has gained a fair amount of praise for its Digital Crown, a dial on the side used for navigation purposes. Neat.

September 2014: the month in reviewBlackBerry Passport

Finally, we turn our attention to the BlackBerry Passport, a fascinating device with a physical QWERTY keyboard below its square – yep, square – display.

With specs including a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 3GB of RAM and a 3,450mAh battery, the Passport certainly ain’t no slouch, but it remains to be seen if it can have much of an impact on BlackBerry’s ailing fortunes.

Is the BlackBerry Passport an enterprise device? A consumer device? Both? Does BlackBerry even know? Answers on a postcard.

One thing’s for sure; Jan can’t wait to get his hands on it, and we’re equally intrigued.

Read more about: AndroidBlackBerry 10iOS

Add a comment
 1 comment

JanSt / MOD  Sep. 30, 2014 at 21:01

Is the BlackBerry Passport an enterprise device? A consumer device? Both? Does BlackBerry even know? Answers on a postcard.

Oh gawd.... I'm still not over the so-called 'review' by a certain someone... heck, lets call her Joanna Stern for pure practicality. Not only did I read the whole thing, I watched the whole thing, too... I'm not one to rate other bloggers' output, but wow... what cringe. SHE will get an Emmy within 5 years, no doubt. And if there is a god, it won't be for anything tech-related.
I'm just mentioning that, because hers is the most quoted 'review' of the Passport.

C'mon - enterprise or consumer device? All smartphones pretend they are essential 'communication & work' devices with added funner-ness...

I do not believe BB expects to beat Apple sales figures or those of an SGSx, y or z... They know it's a niche product - that much is very clear. And it's very much a launch of a lot more than a weird phone - BB launched, coinciding, many new services.

Am I biased? Yes - I like the occasional oddity. We know the next SGS flagship will share 99.9% of its gene material with its grandfather.
The Z4 will look almost like the Z2 etc...
I'm a niche. Gimme product.

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: