Windows 8 Consumer Preview available now

Windows 8 Consumer Preview available nowIt’s been nine months since Microsoft first showed off Windows 8, and almost six since it gave away 5,000 Samsung-built developer tablets at the Build conference.

Now, the Windows 8 Consumer Preview is finally available for Joe Public to get his greasy hands on.

Of course, you wouldn’t normally expect to find us jawing about laptops and PCs on Mobot, but Windows 8 will – all going well – have a massive presence in the tablet arena. Samsung and Nokia, among others, are tipped for Windows 8 tablet action.

Windows 8 borrows heavily from Windows Phone 7’s Metro UI (with a dollop of Xbox Live dashboard thrown in), and it’s largely focused around the use of touch.

“With Windows 8, we re-imagined the different ways people interact with their PC and how to make everything feel like a natural extension of the device, whether using a Windows 8 tablet, laptop or all-in-one,” said Microsoft’s Steven Sinofsky.

The Windows 8 Consumer Preview launches alongside a beta version of the Windows 8 app store. You can download the Consumer Preview right here, baby.

Read more about: Windows Phone

Add a comment
12 comments

matt101101 / MOD  Mar. 2, 2012 at 11:21

Link to the ISO files for the more technically minded:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/iso

MDrX  Mar. 2, 2012 at 11:29

Cool, thanks Matt. Nothing like abusing the company's gb net connection.

matt101101 / MOD  Mar. 2, 2012 at 11:38

I stupidly downloaded it via my 3G connection when I was tethering yesterday (I wasn't bypassing work's blocking system to waste my afternoon on tech. sites, honest)...T-Mobile have now throttled me to 300kbps now, oops. Apparently "unlimited" doesn't extend to 3.3gb ISO files ;).

CTPAHHIK  Mar. 2, 2012 at 12:58

Thank you, prefer ISO images.

matt101101 / MOD  Mar. 2, 2012 at 13:08

As do I, far more useful for the future when burned to a DVD.

CTPAHHIK  Mar. 2, 2012 at 13:13

Naa, DVD is last century. Mine goes to USB key. Can't justify waste of plastic (and most importantly my time) when I need to slipstream updates or SP.
Installation is much faster from USB.

Treab  Mar. 2, 2012 at 13:15

I stupidly downloaded it via my 3G connection when I was tethering yesterday (I wasn't bypassing work's blocking system to waste my afternoon on tech. sites, honest)...T-Mobile have now throttled me to 300kbps now, oops. Apparently "unlimited" doesn't extend to 3.3gb ISO files ;).

same as all t-mobile deals... 500mb usage policy then they slow your internet down :D

matt101101 / MOD  Mar. 2, 2012 at 13:25

As would mine...if I had a big enough USB stick :p, I only have large SD cards, which my computer won't let me install an OS from.
I have a load of unused DVDs anyway so I can't justify the cost of buying a big USB stick, yet.

Treab, 1gb for me but your point still stands. I totally forgot I was tethered until I looked at my phone later and had a b*tchy text from T-Mob whining about how much data I'd used this month. At least they don't charge you extra for going over your allowance, though that would be hard on PAYG.

Pondlife  Mar. 2, 2012 at 13:53

Didn't you get two messages one saying you'd used 80% then another saying it was 100%, I get those monthly :)

Not managed to grab this yet though, keeps stopping partway through.

matt101101 / MOD  Mar. 2, 2012 at 13:55

Yeah, I got them both :p, unfortunately by then I'd already downloaded the 64 bit version of W8. Looks like I'll be having slow 3G for the next 18 days, yay.

Treab  Mar. 2, 2012 at 14:05

Ha :p MY PHONE IS FASTER THAN YOURS... on 3g ;)

matt101101 / MOD  Mar. 2, 2012 at 14:11

Yes it is, at least for the next 18 days anyway. 0.3mbps is painfully, painfully slow.

Thankfully I only have to rely on 3G occasionally.

Email:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

Comment: